Week Five

Week Five as well as spring break has come and I am more or less at the halfway point of my internship.  The entirety of my time thus far has been confined to Helen’s basement where her papers are located but it appears likely as if that phase may soon be coming to an end as both me and Dan continue to make great progress on the many files and should be close to finishing up in the coming weeks.  Meanwhile I continue to make fascinating discoveries as I browse through the many documents of Helen’s career.  The most interesting thing I was able to find this week was a correspondence with the previous President of our University pertaining to the community initiatives undertaken by the administration as well as reactions to such actions by the faculty, student body, and surrounding community.  It was obviously very enlightening to find out about this rarely explored side of the services provided by our university and especially to see concert evidence of an increasingly bygone era in terms of both our city and university government.

Leave a comment